Psycho (1960)

AshleyPsycho, to me, was the equivalent of swinging a bat and making it to first base. Was it a homerun? No. Did it make me stop and cheer? Not really. But the main point is that did not strike out.

Just to give you a little history behind this film, Psycho was created by director and producer Alfred Hitchcock. The same man who brought people Alfred Hitchcock Presents and Vertigo. This film was released on September 8, 1960 with leading lady Janet Leigh as Marion Crane and memorable Anthony Perkins as Norman Bates. The plot of the film is a lady on the run after taking $40,000 from her boss (who you can safely call her ex-boss) and ends up checking into the wrong motel ran by a strange young man.

Now, to bring back my baseball analogy I will point out the reasons why this film did not strike out.

Ball One! While the premise of this film was unique, it only manages to capture 75% of my attention—because of the acting (and parts of editing). I had to constantly remind myself that this film was made in the 1960’s and I have seen my fair share of perfectly acted and well edited horror films—but they were made in the 2000’s. Scenes that made one eyebrow rise include the talking of Bates’ mother and how Crane could hear everything from her motel room. That. Is. Not. Possible. Unless there was some sort of amplifier attached from the motel to the house on the hill—it’s not happening. I did not care how much it set the scene, how the shrewdness of the mother’s voice and not being able to see her let the audience form an opinion of his mother. Zero percent of me cared how that scene showed the interaction between a timid and helpful Bates and his mean-spirited mother. Also the scene of Bates being apprehended by another male actor was not there for me. It felt unreal and poorly acted.

Ball Two! I’m pretty sure my gripe over this is not fair. But the suspicious or pushy behavior of several characters continuously irritated me. Crane did not possess the ability to stop acting so nervous and suspicious. Okay, you stole $40,000 now get to your destination and stop moving, talking, evading, and avoiding so much!  Crane is driving while recollecting and reminiscing and the director showed how much time had went by with voice overs and the main camera being on Crane’s face. Crane face did not regret her actions. At that exact moment she was empowered behind the wheel and did not have one ounce of shame in taking the money. It was not until later that she second guessed her decision.

One scene with pushy behavior was the employer’s Private Investigator (PI) looking for Crane and the stolen money. Not once did he pick up on Bates awkward attitude and just continuously hounded for more and more information. The second I figured out Bates was dishonest I would have walked backwards slowly and drove away. The end result of the PI made a lot of sense.

SMACK! BALL! The one good thing about this movie that ran all the way to first base for me was the music. If I had no idea what was going on or questioned the direction of the movie Bernard Herrman, whom the music was by, made sure I stayed on point. Whether the music was whimsical or heavy and creepy, it let gave the audience insight. While watching the movie there were times where I had goosebumps because of the movie or outright terrified of Bates’ character. All in all that was what brought the movie together and deserves a couple handfuls of popcorn.

TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*

KiearaIf you have yet to see the movie PSYCHO by Alfred Hitchcock, YouTube the shower scene and consider yourself lucky. In the 1960’s some of the elements in this film were revolutionary, but so is Miley Cyrus unfortunate decision to twerk nowadays. Instead of ranting I have provided 5 reasons why I wasn’t entertained and played with my popcorn A LOT because lists are cooler to read than paragraphs.

1. The opening scene was emotional vomit that is induced by eating really good food too fast. They enter the scene as two carefree lovers with (obviously) the female demanding more out of the relationship and the male prancing around her request to him being a poor, sad, depressed, divorcee whose life is filled with woes. At the end of the scene I couldn’t comprehend how we could go from such a carefree ice cream, giggling cake, naked dance cookie dough (okay it wasn’t that sweet or weird) to puking out our brains in emotional drama from the left field.

2. I find it hard to believe an employer would trust an employee to deposit $40,000 ($315,000 in 2013) alone, not just out of fear of embezzlement, but for her safety. Even if I could make myself believe that, the moment I saw my “sick” employee who was supposed to be in bed after leaving work early smiling as she cruised along, I would have been suspicious and not confused when she didn’t show up for work the following Monday.

3. The social commentary created when she gets harassed by the cop is all but erased the moment she decides to buy a new car even after she is aware he is following her. What was the point? Okay you can claim that was her fear preventing her from thinking rationally but that’s bs. Her objective was to leave as soon as possible to avoid the cop and she could have at any moment with her old car, but instead she decides to stay and pay $700 just so the officer can have more information on her?

4. While she was driving the voiceovers were a nice touch. Not only did they play into her paranoid state, they updated us on what was going on back home. This cool technique turned sour when Norman Bates and his mother’s conversation could be heard crystal clear all the way in her hotel room. Instead of showcasing her guilt and paranoid state she became a random superhero with supersonic hearing.

5. After hearing Normans conversation with his mom (she basically called her a seductive demon slut) why would you invite him into your room? And who tells a stranger they just met, that reeks of desperation, to put their mom and their only friend in a home?

I’m going to be honest. Half of the movie had passed and I still wasn’t connecting to the film yet hence why there are only 5 reasons and not 17. I watched it, and I could tell you what happened, but at this point I didn’t really care and nothing that happened afterwards convinced me to feel otherwise.

Leave a Reply

