Citizen Kane

AshleyWatching Citizen Kane in the year 2013 and being 24-years-old is a of a bit head trip. I have to mentally accept everything being in black and white—which is not hard. Some movies being made today revert back to the old days. Wrap my mind around the era—everyone wore suits, women portrayed stereotypical gender-based roles, and smoking….smoking everywhere.

All in all I enjoyed a movie about a man who tried to master the impossible without fear, but lost to passion and regret. Citizen Kane was enjoyable, that much I can admit. How could one not enjoy handsome faced Orsen Wells on screen giving a charming performance? Also, the lighting in the film was fantastic! The lighting was an amazing way to tell a story within a black and white film without the use of dramatic colors.

My degree is in Journalism so watching this film I already knew a bunch of amazing facts about this movie. But I decided to take all of that knowledge and throw it out the window. I wanted to watch this movie with a clean slate and take everything in—and that’s exactly what I did. In the beginning I thought the movie was “ok”, the voice over during the film was distracting and I had to tell myself to focus. I was slightly confused about what was going on and what the film was setting up. In my opinion a lot of the frustration from me came from what I am used to watching in the year 2013. When I finally calmed down I took in an amazing movie.

Citizen Kane (Orsen Wells) managed to make me feel sad for him at the end of the film, when I should not have. This movie’s format of telling the story was through flashbacks, which was a unique idea at the time. The people in Kane’s life at the time, old friends, ex-friends, past lovers, crafted a story of a man who had everything and lost it all chasing a vision. Citizen Kane managed to have dark humor, provide an intricate plot, and bring fresh faces to the big screen without someone like me noticing they were new on the scene.

At the end of the day, I think people who are willing to try something old and different—give it a try! You might actually find yourself liking it. If for nothing else, enjoy the suspenders. A slight Eyebrow Arch, because that opening scene to the movie was skeptical.

TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*TAE*

Citizen Kane was produced in the 1940’s and is one of the most influential American films ever made. That’s all fine and dandy, but Kiearaas innovative as the first iPod was I do not see many people with it. Classic movies are similar to jokes to me; if I had to be there to get it, you cannot label the joke as funny.

True classical masterpieces remain relevant despite time. I was prepared to write a review discrediting Citizen Kane as hogwash (hahaha hogwash) and state that it is indeed cool and inventive for its time (like the original iPod), but that is impossible.

The opening scene are so exhausting and may cause you to loose respect for everyone who speaks of the brilliance of Citizen Kane. I paused the movie at least three times to make sure it was the Citizen Kane I was supposed to be watching and to verify it was not three hours long (it is not, but it felt like it).

Citizen Kane is a classical masterpiece because it does not require footnotes on its brilliance. There is no need for me to write a list on what techniques Welles used in dramatic and innovative ways, they are self-evident the second the news clip ends. As dreadful as the intro was, you will be grateful for it later; everything you generally need to know was explained in the beginning so the rest of the film could focus on the details that made the man.

After watching the film I had to ask myself why, “How come movies are not made like this anymore?” For example, lighting, which was used magnificently, serves as a purpose that does not require much to understand. After the news clip the next scene literally contains only the silhouettes of reporters because their details do not matter.

If you love great movies, Citizen Kane is a must watch, but be prepared to settle in because the movie seems much longer than it actually is. Eyebrows Arched in approval.

One thought on “Citizen Kane

Leave a Reply

